You can use the New option on the toolbar to create new objects such as assets, asset groups, resources, and so on. The toolbar is visible in every tab in Dalet Flex, so it can be accessed quickly and easily. Once you select the type of object you wish to create, you will be taken to a screen where you will be required to enter a name for the object and an optional description.
You can select the object type you wish to create, by clicking the New drop down.
In the Create new… section, you can enter the details for your new object. Depending on the object type, required setup details and mandatory fields may vary. All mandatory fields will be marked with a red star.
Dalet Flex now supports external IDs. The support for external IDs has been introduced in the following areas:
If you wipe over an external ID for an object in the Dalet Flex console, you can see the details in a pop-up. This pop-up lists a small table of the external IDs currently defined. The pop-up also enables you to delete, add, or edit entries, as long as you have the External ID Management permission enabled for your role.
You can search an existing external ID in the Dalet Flex console using both the basic search, and an advanced search. The following examples of queries can be performed:
Below is a list of some objects types that you may be able to create (dependant on your permissions):
You can update the information for any object in Dalet Flex. To update the information for an object, in the Object Details section, click the Edit option, on the right hand side.
Once you’ve made the desired changes to the information, simply click the Save option to finalise them, or click the Cancel option, if you don’t wish to save them.
Most object types in Dalet Flex support enabling and disabling. Disabling provides a safe way to configure an object without impacting the operation of Dalet Flex. When an object is first created, it is disabled. In this state it can be edited but cannot be used by the wider system. Once an object is enabled it can be used by the wider system and cannot be edited.
When disabling an object you will see a warning message if there is a currently enabled object that references this object. When this happens you must first disable the objects that references this object. This functionality ensures that the super user is aware of dependencies and can safely handle them without inadvertently breaking functionality in Dalet Flex.
You can avoid these warnings by first checking whether the object you are disabling is currently referenced, in the References tab.
When creating an object that supports being enabled and disabled, it will not be usable in the wider system until it has been enabled.
Click the Enable button, which can be accessed from the toolbar, within any Object Setting view.
A notification box will be displayed, asking whether you want to enable the object. Click the Yes button to enable the object.
You will be shown the Disable icon, which indicates that the object is currently enabled.
To disable an object, simply click the Disable option from the toolbar within the object setting view.
A notification box will be displayed asking whether you want to disable the object. Simply click the Yes button to disable the object.
Some objects can be deleted once they have been disabled. A deleted object is not removed from Dalet Flex it is simply hidden from most views. Once an object has been deleted it can no longer be restored.
To delete an object, simply click the Delete icon in the Object Setting view.
In the pop up window, click Yes to delete the object.
Some objects can be run as a service in Dalet Flex. Examples include resources and timed actions. Once such objects have been enabled, they then need to be started in order to function within Dalet Flex. Stopping an object is useful when you wish to divert Jobs or other activities to other services. A good example of the importance of starting and stopping is the resource. If you stop a resource, it will no longer be used and Dalet Flex will divert jobs to other resources that are visible to the current user and that are running. So by stopping a running resource, a super user can safely take it out of the pool of resources for configuration or decommission. Conversely, a super user can configure a new resource and it will not be available until the super user starts it.
Click the Start icon found in the Object Setting view.
Click the Stop icon found in the Object Setting view.